Dan came and knocked on the door at 5am. we hadn't actually got any sleep having spent so long just sitting in the dark talking. it seemed so ridiculous, after knowing someone for less than 72 hours i'd still ended up feeling incredibly connected to Raffaele, but that was just how it had ended up. it took me less than five minutes to pack, and before i knew it we were on our way to the train station. we got there 20 minutes early, so we spent a while sitting around in pretty much silence. i think we were all pretty gutted to be leaving, and we were all so tired, making conversation was a lot more effort than it was worth.
The train eventually got there, and i have to admit, at that moment saying goodbye to Raffaele felt like the hardest thing i would ever have to do. but nevertheless after promises to keep in touch i got on the train and we settled down for the 6 hour journey back to Rome. the train got pretty busy, so when some people came who had reserved the seats we were sitting in, we ended up getting split across a carriage. a man from somewhere in Africa came over and started talking to me, but i really didn't have any patience for him and after the fourth time of asking for my phone number i got pretty rude and he spent the last 4 hours completely silent.
We got back to Termini station and Dan disappeared to get a train to an airport; he was getting on a different plane to get him back to Manchester. so me, Vikki and Eliot were left wandering around the train station for an hour, waiting for the coach to take us to the airport. it was boiling hot, i'd had very little sleep and i was irritable anyway; i really didn't want to leave and the child in me threw a hissy fit. despite this, we still ended up at the airport in time, only to sit around for another three hours waiting to get on a bus to take us to the right terminal so we could get on the plane. i was feeling physically horrible, and i was pretty sure i'd throw up any minute but we managed to make it to London without any dramatics. i'm pretty sure if i hadn't had my ipod, and Vikki holding my hand the whole time, i would have panicked and made some sort of horrible scene. we arrived in Stanstead airport at about 5pm, exhausted but alive and perfectly unharmed from our (my first) independent rampage across Italy. it had been a wonderful experience and i'm sure it will continue to be a beautiful memory.
“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn’t do than by the things you did... Explore. Dream. Discover.” – Mark Twain
Thursday, 28 July 2011
Wednesday, 27 July 2011
Italy 2011 - Day Seven, Calabria
We all got up pretty late, and when we got to the beach, some of Raffaele's family were waiting; his aunt, uncle and two cousins. there was a boy who must of been about 10, and a little girl who was younger. they both spoke a tiny amount of English, but still insisted on playing with us. the little girl was especially interested in my piercings; apparently not many Italian girls have quite as many as i did but she seemed to love them. she was seriously adorable, and wouldn't stop giggling, especially when we buried her in the sand. her dad wasn't particularly happy about that; apparently the sand is from a river and breathing it in would be bad for her, so she helped us bury Raffaele instead. there was one particularly sweet moment, when she asked him something in Italian, and he started laughing, and told me that he'd asked if i was his girlfriend. i can't pin-point exactly why it touched me so much. i suppose because in England, all the little kids i know would just laugh and tease us, but she seemed to be genuinely happy at the idea of us being together. or maybe it was just because she was Italian.
Once the sun started to disappear his cousins headed home, and we decided to do the same. we were all trying to decide what to do that night, and after the night before i didn't really want to go into town again, although that seemed to be what Raffaele's friends seemed to want. we ended up agreeing that they should go into town for an hour or two, then come here for more drinks. this is when we learnt that Gabriele had had to go to hospital the night before. he had been throwing up a bit on the way back from the beach last night, but i've seen people on nights out much worse off that haven't gone to hospital. i guess in a non-binge drinking society they're more careful with drunk people. but he was fine, he just wasn't going to be drinking so much tonight.
Everyone went off to sleep for a while before they came, our plan was to stay up all night as we'd have to leave at about 5-30am the next day to get the train back to Rome. Eliot ended up going to bed pretty early, but i was pretty determined not to miss anything; i could always just sleep on the train the next day. when Raffaele's friends got to the house we tried to teach them a few normal drinking games, starting with Ring of Fire, which we'd previously tried to teach Raffaele, who then had to try to teach it to them in Italian. unfortunately we didn't really have enough alcohol, and they didn't really understand the concept so it ended up just being a load of teenagers sitting around a table picking up cards every now and then, shouting at each other.
At about 3am we were all starting to get pretty tired, Eliot had gone to bed and Raffaele and Dan had gone to get some food. Vikki was trying to clean up and make sure everything was packed, while me and Andrea sat around listening to music. all Raffaele's friends left, all except for Adelchi who was going to drive us to the station. this was the moment when i started getting pretty sad about leaving. the room looked so lonely and empty - i had to go and sit in my room for a moment to stop myself from crying, and to be honest i felt like that pretty much until Raffaele got back. him and Dan had bought a massive box of chocolate pastries from the cafe we'd been in the night before. they tasted so good, but i really didn't feel much like eating, and after half an hour of everyone sitting in pretty much silence, Raffaele and I wandered off to his room for a bit of sleep. Tuesday, 26 July 2011
Italy 2011 - Day Six, Calabria
Everyone got up pretty early and went for ice cream, although personally i don't like ice cream, and again figured that it would be best to skip the food in favour for more sleep, even if it ended up being only an extra half an hour. we decided that we should visit the beach and try to start tanning, as we were all looking considerably white, especially compared to all the Italians walking around. here in Southern Italy we got stared at a lot; apparently this town particularly wasn't used to there being tourists, and a lot of them couldn't speak any English at all, so thank god we had Raffaele with us to translate. i was a bit late to the beach because i wanted to grab a quick shower and ended up accidentally shaving off a chunk of my leg. we'd bought disposable razors, and i wasn't used to there only being one blade, spent a lot of the day blowing sand out of a plaster.
![]() |
| Calabria - town area in front of the beach |
We hung out at the beach for the rest of the day, mostly just reading or half sleeping then when it got too hot we'd go down to the sea, splash around for a few minutes while i complained that it was too cold, and then head back up to lounge under the umbrella again. in the evening we wandered back up to the house, where Raffaeles family asked us to join them for supper that night. it would take a while to prepare, so we went back to our house for a few hours where we ended up watching some strange Italian version of 'You've Been Framed' which was entirely rubbish except for this one clip of a cat in a bathtub that for some reason we all found completely hilarious.
![]() |
| picture from their website |
![]() |
| picture from their website |
![]() |
| Sicily |
I was still feeling pretty horrible at this point; my head was killing me, so i asked if i could go sleep in the car for a bit. Raffaele refused, and said that if i wasn't having fun then it wouldn't be fun for them, so that we would go home and that i could sleep in my bed. i felt bad for dragging them away from town, but they were all very lovely about it, and decided they wanted to go to a beach party instead anyway, so they could drop me off at home on the way. however, what they didn't realise is that ever since i was young, i've found it almost impossible to sleep when i know there's something more exciting i could be doing, and this beach party sounded like fun. so i went to the beach with them instead, saying i could just sleep on the beach if i felt too bad. on the beach i ended up talking to one of Raffaele's friends, Gabriele, who i actually had quite a lot in common with. he had been gradually drinking his way through a bottle of wine, which i think he said he'd made himself, and was strong enough to cure my headache. wine actually tends to give me more of a headache if anything, but i figured i'd at least try it, and i'm not saying it was actually the wine, but after about ten minutes i felt completely better, and actually started to get a little hyper.
![]() |
| Adelchi, Gabriele, Raffaele, Me, Dan, Giuseppe, Maura, Vikki, Eliot, Andrea |
When we got back to the house i was still pretty wide awake, while everyone else was feeling dead, but i managed to persuade Raffaele to stay up and play card games with me. after a while we went to his room, which is when we realised that it was starting to get light outside. we stayed up for ages, until we heard his mum moving around in the kitchen, and not sure on how she would react to me sitting in her sons room, i decided to sneak back to my own room. on getting to the front door of our house, i realised that i didn't have a key, so Raffaele had to help me break into his own house, accidentally waking Vikki up in the process. it wasn't until around half seven in the morning that i managed to climb through the window and crawl into bed, but i'm pretty sure the night we'd had justified the lack of sleep.
Monday, 25 July 2011
Italy 2011 - Day Five, To Calabria
So we left Pompei pretty early (about mid-day but it felt horribly early) and took a train back to Naples. i bought a postcard with every intention to send it back to my family, and we got another train to Calabria, remembering to stamp our tickets first this time. after a few hours we had to get off to change trains, at which point we were told that there would be a twenty minute delay. i wanted to go out and wander around the town, but i was told that twenty minutes wouldn't be enough time. i was getting kind of hungry, having skipped breakfast, and lunch time had been spent in Naples train station where i hadn't felt like digging through all my dirty clothes to find some money. so after waiting for fifteen minutes we were told that the train would be delayed another half hour. bored of standing around, i decided that half an hour was definitely enough time and dragged everyone out a small café opposite the station, although on arrival decided that i didn't actually want any of the food because it all looked a bit dirty, and i wasn't feeling particularly adventurous that day.
After spending some time sitting outside, we decided to head back into the station - it seemed like kind of an uneventful place and we didn't really have enough time to explore properly, although back in the station we discovered that our train was once again, further delayed, so by the time we got on it was starting to get dark. i'm going to be honest, i feel pretty bad for the guys for being so moody at that point, i think i did snap at them a bit, although once we got to Calabria i was feeling much better.
We met Dans friend, Raffaele, and his mum at the train station so they could drive us back to their house. they have a sort of spare house on the edge of there's where they let people stay with three bedrooms and a kitchen, living room ect which i actually really loved. it was very open, with high ceilings, but it felt pretty homely. so they showed us around, and left us to settle in. if we'd been sensible we would have tried to have an early night, and the beds were super comfy, so it would have been easy, but instead we asked Raffa to show us around the town a bit, so we could find a shop, buy some alcohol and have a quiet night in - standard British kids, can't help but have a drink.
So after being introduced to Andrea, Raffa's little brother, we went to have a look at the beach, which was literally two minutes down the road. we walked past this group of teenagers leaning against a car, looking like the equivalent of your average British chav, but playing this Southern Italian folk music with an accordion (see below). i wish that happened here.
After looking at the beach, we headed to a local store and bought a few bottles of alcohol, then came back to the house and sat around the table with a pack of cards and some music, just making random chit-chat. Raffaele and Dan knew each other from a trip to China last year, so for a while our conversation revolved mostly around them talking about that, and us trying to explain how drinking games worked; it turns out that in Italy they've never even heard of Ring of Fire, which shocked us all. our quiet night in ended up with us staying up until about 3am talking about ghosts and drinking quite a considerable amount, in my case anyway. so finally, after a day of travelling on less than an hours sleep, by the time i got to bed i ended up spending ages freaking out about ghosts and spirits coming to attack me through the mosquito net.
After spending some time sitting outside, we decided to head back into the station - it seemed like kind of an uneventful place and we didn't really have enough time to explore properly, although back in the station we discovered that our train was once again, further delayed, so by the time we got on it was starting to get dark. i'm going to be honest, i feel pretty bad for the guys for being so moody at that point, i think i did snap at them a bit, although once we got to Calabria i was feeling much better.
![]() |
| Me and Vikkis room - picture from their website |
So after being introduced to Andrea, Raffa's little brother, we went to have a look at the beach, which was literally two minutes down the road. we walked past this group of teenagers leaning against a car, looking like the equivalent of your average British chav, but playing this Southern Italian folk music with an accordion (see below). i wish that happened here.
![]() |
| Kitchen - picture from their website |
Tarantella Calabrese Tradizionale
traditional Calabrian music
Sunday, 24 July 2011
Italy 2011 - Day Four, Pompei
I was woken up a few hours later by Vikki telling me that they were heading to the ruins, so i had ten minutes to get ready. completely exhausted, and a slight hangover looming i told her where she could stick her ruins, and went back to sleep, only to wake up an hour later, boiling hot with a cleaner standing over me. apparently they'd left the door open, and she was here to clean up, so i figured i'd take the opportunity to grab a shower and try to dry straight my hair without a hair dryer.
I spent the rest of the day building card towers, eating yesterdays pizza and feeling pretty mad at myself for not going to see the ruins. it was, after all, the reason why we'd come to Pompei, and i'd been looking forward to seeing everything. it didn't help that when they got back, i was informed that the door had been open all night. in fact, the owners were pretty mad because they'd stayed up all night, worried about us. despite finding this amazingly heart-warming, i also felt incredibly guilty for not only dragging Vikki along, but also keeping up the owners of Hotel Apollo with my nightly adventure.
We went out to look for somewhere to eat, but there didn't seem to be much that anyone fancied, so we ended up in McDonalds. i didn't want anything from there either though, i was kind of sick of pasta and pizza and bread, and was dying for some salad (which has never happened before!) we ended up walking past the cafe from the night before, at which point the guy from the night before came out. Vikki was very determined to go home, not wanting a repeat from the night before, but i ended up agreeing to meet him after his shift finished, so we could hang out some more. after more free drinks i ended up hanging out with him all night, getting back to the hotel an hour before our train was supposed to leave. Saturday, 23 July 2011
Italy 2011 - Day Three, To Pompei
Waking up reasonably early, i decided to skip breakfast (again) for the option of a few more hours in bed, however it still seemed all too soon before the guys were back, forcing me to pack as quickly as possible before pushing me out the door with half a pastry in my hand. i didn't really want to leave; Rome was beautiful and we hadn't had enough time to explore it, but still, an exciting new adventure was waiting at the train station where we had to work out how to use the ticket machines - luckily there was an 'English' option, so it wasn't too hopeless, and then find the right train, because trust me, Termini station is pretty big. after a pretty panicked rush, we managed to climb onto the right train, boiling hot and filled with people shouting things in Italian. after a five minute confusing conversation with the ticket man we learnt that we were supposed to have stamped the tickets ourselves, and although seeming pretty pissed off about it, he moved on so we could enjoy the next hour and a bit of our journey with our music players turned up.
We arrived at Naples, and having heard so many horrible things about the place, i have to admit i was pretty terrified to get off - expecting drugged up kids with knives to be hanging around every corner. apparently the station was supposed to be one of the most dangerous places in the city, but to be honest it didn't really feel that bad. it was clean, and there were security guards wandering around, and it didn't take us long to find the information booth were we worked out that we had to buy tickets from another part of the station to get onto another type of train to go to Pompei. it was after lunch time now, so we were all getting pretty hungry, so the boys had some ice cream, but i was still feeling kind of gross from the day before so figured i should skip the food until later. we followed signs, and ended up somewhere looking kind of like a dirty version of the underground, and got on the train with little hassle. it was pretty packed though, and me and Vikki ended up standing next to this creepy looking old guy who kept giving us some pretty odd looks, and pushing against us a bit too much, so feeling uncomfortably close to some sort of sexual harassment situation, we made a swift exit to the next carriage.
We got to Pompei and despite it being about four in the afternoon, it was still pretty hot. it didn't help that we then decided to walk to our hotel, following directions from road signs which told us it was only five minutes away. we ended up walking for over an hour; i'm pretty sure we got lost at some point, so by the time we got there i have to admit, i was pretty exhausted and not in the best of moods. however, when we got there, the hotel itself was beautiful, and right on Bartolo Longo Square, so although being pretty basic, when we opened the doors there was a pretty epic view.
After resting for a while, we went down to the restaurant just next to Hotel Apollo where the owner got very excited about us being British, and gave us a free bottle of wine, explaining how he'd always wanted to go to London and that we had to tell him everything, which was so sweet but we were all too tired to really be excited about it. we ordered pizza again, and forgetting that the pepperoni in Italy was genuinely spicy, i couldn't really manage much of mine, but they very kindly put it in a box for me to take home with me.
Back in our room, we decided that we should go out and have a look around, it was a Saturday night, and personally i hate spending my Saturdays inside, especially in an exciting new place. it was surprisingly busy considering there didn't seem to be many bars, and no clubs at all. there were more cafe type places, where they served alcohol but then drank like they were sitting around mid-afternoon having a sprite in the sun, which seemed slightly surreal to me, being the type of girl who'd learned how to binge-drink at the age of fifteen. we managed to find an Irish bar, but it was nothing like the one in Rome. the only thing Irish about it was the green lighting (if you could even call that Irish!) - they didn't have any Guinness and they even had an American flag up on the wall!
We did stumble upon a 24 hour bar though, which was pretty amazing in my opinion. it was exactly like a cafe, with numbered round glass tables and wicker chairs everywhere, and a sort of tent like material over the top of everything. i guess this made it technically outside, so everyone could smoke and not break any laws. there were waiters with ties who came over and took your order - there were no simple 'vodka and coke's here, it was all fancy cocktails, some that i'd heard of and some that i hadn't - and then they'd go up to this massive bar and bring your drink over, along with a dish of free food; small bits of pizza, potato balls and biscuits, which tasted pretty good actually.
I'll be honest, with the lack of sleep and the small amount of food i'd eaten that day, i did guess that any alcohol was only going to go straight to my head, and i should have known better, but i guess i'll never learn. so wandering around Bartolo Longo Square, quite tipsy, and watching all the families playing with the fountain, I decided that it was too early to go to bed, despite the boys telling us that if we weren't back by half eleven we'd get locked out. we sat in the square for a bit, and Vikki and i ended up in a small cafe opposite the fountain where we made friends with the bar-owner and a waiter who ended up bringing us free drinks and inviting us for a trip to the beach in Sorrento, which was only about forty minutes away. i feel bad for Vikki at this point, because in my slightly drunken reckless state, i thought this was an amazing idea, and being the sensible one, Vikki had to try to persuade me that getting in a car with two guys we'd only just met was a completely terrible idea.
After a while we managed to come to a compromise - we would stay in Pompei, wait for the guys to finish their shift and then go to that 24 hour bar for a while. so me and Vikki sat there drinking free drinks, while Dan and Eliot went to sleep. we realised at this point that we wouldn't be able to get back into our room until 8am the next day, but of course that didn't feel like much of an issue at the time.
Once they were finished we headed over to the bar; on the way some guys in a car pulled over and asked us something in Italian that me and Vikki didn't understand, but according to the guys they said something a bit rude that circulated around us getting in their car and doing unspeakable things to them. although slightly hilarious, it was obviously a little terrifying so i was glad to have the boys with us. we spent quite a while in the bar, where we realised that they didn't really speak much English, and one of the guys was getting pretty forward with Vikki, who had a boyfriend and was really becoming a bit uncomfortable. we headed for the toilets, plotting a way to get away, deciding that we'd just tell them that we were going home and then wait outside the hotel until the morning (it was about 4am so it would only be a few hours until it opened again) but unfortunately the guys decided to escort us back. we phoned the Dan and Eliot to see if they would open the door, but apparently they slept through their phones. after a pretty unconvincing 'phone call' we persuaded them that the boys actually had picked up their phone, and that they would be down at any minute, so they could leave us now.
The square was completely empty now, aside from the billions of stray dogs we'd been told to definitely not touch, who kept barking, and one lonely old man sweeping the street opposite. after a few minutes we decided to make our way back to the bar, where we'd feel slightly safer, however on our walk down there whose car was to pull up on the side of the road? the boys from before who began yet again telling us to get in their car. we shouted something about not being able to understand them, before walking pretty quickly down towards the bar. it was at this point we realised that the faster we walked, the more dogs that chased us, so we ended up being stuck in a strange fast-paced walk, trying to get away from the creepy men in the car without exciting the dogs too much.
Luckily the guys from the cafe happened to drive past at this point, where they pulled over and told the guys in the car to get lost. this was pretty embarrassing, as we now had to make up some sort of excuse as to why we hadn't actually gone into the hotel, they we'd said. they didn't seem too mad, and took us for coffee - they didn't have any tea! at about half 7 we made our way back to their cafe where they said we could sleep on the sofas until we could get into the hotel. so we stayed there for a while, before deciding to head back to try to get in. luckily it was open, so we made our way back into our room to find the boys wide awake, well rested, and completely oblivious of our nightly adventure. too tired to explain, i was quite happy to climb into bed and let them wonder about it for another few hours..
We arrived at Naples, and having heard so many horrible things about the place, i have to admit i was pretty terrified to get off - expecting drugged up kids with knives to be hanging around every corner. apparently the station was supposed to be one of the most dangerous places in the city, but to be honest it didn't really feel that bad. it was clean, and there were security guards wandering around, and it didn't take us long to find the information booth were we worked out that we had to buy tickets from another part of the station to get onto another type of train to go to Pompei. it was after lunch time now, so we were all getting pretty hungry, so the boys had some ice cream, but i was still feeling kind of gross from the day before so figured i should skip the food until later. we followed signs, and ended up somewhere looking kind of like a dirty version of the underground, and got on the train with little hassle. it was pretty packed though, and me and Vikki ended up standing next to this creepy looking old guy who kept giving us some pretty odd looks, and pushing against us a bit too much, so feeling uncomfortably close to some sort of sexual harassment situation, we made a swift exit to the next carriage.
![]() |
| Hotel Apollo |
After resting for a while, we went down to the restaurant just next to Hotel Apollo where the owner got very excited about us being British, and gave us a free bottle of wine, explaining how he'd always wanted to go to London and that we had to tell him everything, which was so sweet but we were all too tired to really be excited about it. we ordered pizza again, and forgetting that the pepperoni in Italy was genuinely spicy, i couldn't really manage much of mine, but they very kindly put it in a box for me to take home with me.
Back in our room, we decided that we should go out and have a look around, it was a Saturday night, and personally i hate spending my Saturdays inside, especially in an exciting new place. it was surprisingly busy considering there didn't seem to be many bars, and no clubs at all. there were more cafe type places, where they served alcohol but then drank like they were sitting around mid-afternoon having a sprite in the sun, which seemed slightly surreal to me, being the type of girl who'd learned how to binge-drink at the age of fifteen. we managed to find an Irish bar, but it was nothing like the one in Rome. the only thing Irish about it was the green lighting (if you could even call that Irish!) - they didn't have any Guinness and they even had an American flag up on the wall!
We did stumble upon a 24 hour bar though, which was pretty amazing in my opinion. it was exactly like a cafe, with numbered round glass tables and wicker chairs everywhere, and a sort of tent like material over the top of everything. i guess this made it technically outside, so everyone could smoke and not break any laws. there were waiters with ties who came over and took your order - there were no simple 'vodka and coke's here, it was all fancy cocktails, some that i'd heard of and some that i hadn't - and then they'd go up to this massive bar and bring your drink over, along with a dish of free food; small bits of pizza, potato balls and biscuits, which tasted pretty good actually.
I'll be honest, with the lack of sleep and the small amount of food i'd eaten that day, i did guess that any alcohol was only going to go straight to my head, and i should have known better, but i guess i'll never learn. so wandering around Bartolo Longo Square, quite tipsy, and watching all the families playing with the fountain, I decided that it was too early to go to bed, despite the boys telling us that if we weren't back by half eleven we'd get locked out. we sat in the square for a bit, and Vikki and i ended up in a small cafe opposite the fountain where we made friends with the bar-owner and a waiter who ended up bringing us free drinks and inviting us for a trip to the beach in Sorrento, which was only about forty minutes away. i feel bad for Vikki at this point, because in my slightly drunken reckless state, i thought this was an amazing idea, and being the sensible one, Vikki had to try to persuade me that getting in a car with two guys we'd only just met was a completely terrible idea.
After a while we managed to come to a compromise - we would stay in Pompei, wait for the guys to finish their shift and then go to that 24 hour bar for a while. so me and Vikki sat there drinking free drinks, while Dan and Eliot went to sleep. we realised at this point that we wouldn't be able to get back into our room until 8am the next day, but of course that didn't feel like much of an issue at the time.Once they were finished we headed over to the bar; on the way some guys in a car pulled over and asked us something in Italian that me and Vikki didn't understand, but according to the guys they said something a bit rude that circulated around us getting in their car and doing unspeakable things to them. although slightly hilarious, it was obviously a little terrifying so i was glad to have the boys with us. we spent quite a while in the bar, where we realised that they didn't really speak much English, and one of the guys was getting pretty forward with Vikki, who had a boyfriend and was really becoming a bit uncomfortable. we headed for the toilets, plotting a way to get away, deciding that we'd just tell them that we were going home and then wait outside the hotel until the morning (it was about 4am so it would only be a few hours until it opened again) but unfortunately the guys decided to escort us back. we phoned the Dan and Eliot to see if they would open the door, but apparently they slept through their phones. after a pretty unconvincing 'phone call' we persuaded them that the boys actually had picked up their phone, and that they would be down at any minute, so they could leave us now.
The square was completely empty now, aside from the billions of stray dogs we'd been told to definitely not touch, who kept barking, and one lonely old man sweeping the street opposite. after a few minutes we decided to make our way back to the bar, where we'd feel slightly safer, however on our walk down there whose car was to pull up on the side of the road? the boys from before who began yet again telling us to get in their car. we shouted something about not being able to understand them, before walking pretty quickly down towards the bar. it was at this point we realised that the faster we walked, the more dogs that chased us, so we ended up being stuck in a strange fast-paced walk, trying to get away from the creepy men in the car without exciting the dogs too much.
Luckily the guys from the cafe happened to drive past at this point, where they pulled over and told the guys in the car to get lost. this was pretty embarrassing, as we now had to make up some sort of excuse as to why we hadn't actually gone into the hotel, they we'd said. they didn't seem too mad, and took us for coffee - they didn't have any tea! at about half 7 we made our way back to their cafe where they said we could sleep on the sofas until we could get into the hotel. so we stayed there for a while, before deciding to head back to try to get in. luckily it was open, so we made our way back into our room to find the boys wide awake, well rested, and completely oblivious of our nightly adventure. too tired to explain, i was quite happy to climb into bed and let them wonder about it for another few hours..
Friday, 22 July 2011
Italy 2011 - Day Two, Rome.
After drinking a bit too much the day before, i decided to skip breakfast in order to get an extra half hour in bed (which was totally worth it) and then we headed to the metro station, which was just next to termini station, which was actually a lot closer than it seemed the day before. it was a bit of a rush, but we managed to get on the metro before the strike started, and the ticket only cost €1 for 70 minutes of travel anywhere! shocking compared to the underground in London. we were on our way to the Vatican when a man stopped us and sold Vikki and Eliot tickets to a tour for €40 which Dan and i declined for a few reasons; i was in a pretty bad mood (i'm not good with mornings) and had taken a personal disliking to the man talking to us, i didn't really want to pay €40 for something i wasn't really interested in, and Dan had seen it before, so we decided to spend some time looking around Rome instead, and then to meet up with them later to continue with the plan we'd made earlier.
![]() |
| and then this happened. |
![]() |
| Giordano Bruno |
![]() |
| Campo dei Fiori |
![]() |
| Altare della Patria |
![]() |
| Dan and 'a Roman' |
![]() |
| The Colosseum |
We went outside to get a taxi, but they said it would cost us €30 to get back to Ape Latina so although my feet were killing me at this point, we decided to just walk back. it turned out to be a five minute walk, so watch out for dirty taxi drivers like that. once we got back, we realised that Eliot and Vikki had the keys, and after a phone call discovered that they were now in the Colosseum taking a tour and wouldn't be back for about 40 minutes, so we ended up just sitting outside in the sun. it was strange; it was around half five and yet as sunny as if it were 2pm. this was also the moment i discovered there was an internet connection that i could tap into for free, so i logged onto facebook to let my parents know that i was alive, and that everything was fine.
![]() |
| Me, Eliot, Vikki |
The original plan was to go to the Trevi Fountain but we ended up making a quick detour to see the Colosseum at night, and then going in ompletely the wrong direction to the fountain, and following some music to what seemed like a drag queen/gay pride festival. me and Vikki loved it, but i'm pretty sure Dan found it super uncomfortable, so after ten minutes of me and Vikki doing crazy dances to Brittany Spears we made a swift exit. at which point it started to rain. luckily it only lasted for a few minutes, and despite the rain it was still relatively warm. after dancing with some random strangers in the street, and asking other random strangers for directions we started heading towards the Trevi Fountain but despite our efforts by 4,30am we were still lost, literally wandering around in circles until we bumped into a short Australian man with a dead rose who kindly offered to take us there. so, he got us to the fountain okay, and we sat on the side throwing coins in. personally i wanted to go swimming, but there were policemen watching (at 4am?!) and JJ assured us that swimming in the fountain will land you a night in jail, and we had a train to catch the next day, so ![]() |
| Me, Vikki, Australian |
So we were done with Rome, and although i was sad to leave, we'd certainly seen quite a lot considering we'd only been there for a day and a half -
Thursday, 21 July 2011
Italy 2011 - Day One, To Rome.
So i had to get up reasonably early to take a 4 hour train down to London, which, being new to travelling alone, was an adventure in itself to be honest. So upon arriving at Paddington Station, i had to work out the underground, which wasn't actually too complicated once i'd stared at the tube map for ten minutes. the underground was included in my train ticket, which was brilliant because tickets seemed to be about £7 and there was a long queue for the ticket machines - not that i would have known which ticket to get anyway. so that was a plus, but one stupid thing i did was wear summer clothes. you'd think that would be fine, but in England in July, there is no guarantee with the weather, and i was freezing. i had been trying to save space in my carry on backpack, because it was a mission trying to fit a weeks worth of clothes in without the extra jumper, however i really could have used it.
I got to the airport with very little trouble, and met up with Vikki, who i'd never met before, but she was a friend of the friend i was going with, so we spent a while getting to know each other while waiting for Eliot. once he got there, we wandered around for a while, then headed to the security check in bit. i was slightly worried that they'd scan my bag and find something terrible, but everything was fine, minus the mammoth bottle of sun-cream in Vikki's bag. after security we stood around for another half an hour, waiting for them to let us on the plane. which was terrifying. the plane, not the waiting. i'd never been on Ryanair before, but now i completely understand all the jokes - it was cramped and horrible, and it turns out that i'm not really that keen on flying. i spent most of the flight with my ipod in, head down, eyes shut praying that i wasn't going to die.
We landed at about five in the evening, and the airport in Rome was really basic - completely different to Heathrow, which was surprising considering Rome was the capital city ect.. but it was nice and warm, so i was reasonably happy, and it didn't take us long to find a bus that would take us to termini station - the main train station in Rome, for about €3. that was at that moment that i realised my phone wasn't going to work the entire trip as i'd completely forgotten to go to the phone shop to ask them how to make it work in Europe. so i spent the 40 minute drive trying to work it out myself, although i did manage to glance around and stare at some of the amazing architecture and Italian writing.
Arriving at termini station i realised that i'd completely forgotten to print off a map showing how to get from the station to our hostel, Ape Latina, so we spent a good while wandering around looking for it. we ended up bumping into a lovely Irish priest who helped us out considerably, although upon getting there we discovered that we were supposed to have been there at midday, and despite being a little angry about having waited for so long, the woman there was lovely and friendly, and spoke a considerable amount of English. she showed us to our rooms, and then showed us a map of Rome and told us we could look at it when we wanted. she also recommended some bars and eating places we could go to, so after a few minutes of looking around our room - me and Vikki were sharing, and Dan and Eliot had the room next door - we decided to go out and get some food.
Dan's plane had been delayed by a few hours, so we got some pizza and wandered through the streets a little. at this point it had started getting dark outside, but there were food stores open everywhere, and almost every single one we walked past had a man outside trying to drag us in to eat their food. it was a little intimidating to begin with, but you learnt to just keep confident, and they normally wouldn't kick up a fuss when you walked away. it was the same with crossing the road - you kind of had to just walk out and hope for the best, because no car was going to stop just to let you cross the road unless you didn't give them another option.
After pizza, we decided to try out the Irish bar that had been suggested, which seems ridiculous - going to Italy to hang out in an Irish bar, but it was actually holds some of the best memories from the entire trip. we met JJ, this Scottish bartender who was completely hilarious, and the bar itself was adorable. there were only a few people in there, one being the owner of Ape Latina who came over and said hi, seeming pretty pleased that we'd followed her advice.
behind the bar was an entire wall covered in currency and little notes from people who had visited all over the world, so we left a twenty pence, and a little note of our own. after a few drinks, we got a call from Dan saying he'd arrived, and Eliot wandered off to find him. he was gone for a while, which is when me and Vikki ended up talking to JJ, getting quite drunk and watching her make some crazy cocktails. she showed us a map, and told us all the best places to go, so with some help, Vikki and i planned out the next day. it was then that we were told that public transport was on strike, so we'd have to walk between 8am and 5pm. the boys got back eventually, and after another few hours of what turned into basically a private party in the pub, we staggered back to our rooms, falling asleep at 3am with plans of waking up at 7.. it was a good first day in Rome.
I got to the airport with very little trouble, and met up with Vikki, who i'd never met before, but she was a friend of the friend i was going with, so we spent a while getting to know each other while waiting for Eliot. once he got there, we wandered around for a while, then headed to the security check in bit. i was slightly worried that they'd scan my bag and find something terrible, but everything was fine, minus the mammoth bottle of sun-cream in Vikki's bag. after security we stood around for another half an hour, waiting for them to let us on the plane. which was terrifying. the plane, not the waiting. i'd never been on Ryanair before, but now i completely understand all the jokes - it was cramped and horrible, and it turns out that i'm not really that keen on flying. i spent most of the flight with my ipod in, head down, eyes shut praying that i wasn't going to die.
We landed at about five in the evening, and the airport in Rome was really basic - completely different to Heathrow, which was surprising considering Rome was the capital city ect.. but it was nice and warm, so i was reasonably happy, and it didn't take us long to find a bus that would take us to termini station - the main train station in Rome, for about €3. that was at that moment that i realised my phone wasn't going to work the entire trip as i'd completely forgotten to go to the phone shop to ask them how to make it work in Europe. so i spent the 40 minute drive trying to work it out myself, although i did manage to glance around and stare at some of the amazing architecture and Italian writing.
![]() |
| Ape Latina |
Dan's plane had been delayed by a few hours, so we got some pizza and wandered through the streets a little. at this point it had started getting dark outside, but there were food stores open everywhere, and almost every single one we walked past had a man outside trying to drag us in to eat their food. it was a little intimidating to begin with, but you learnt to just keep confident, and they normally wouldn't kick up a fuss when you walked away. it was the same with crossing the road - you kind of had to just walk out and hope for the best, because no car was going to stop just to let you cross the road unless you didn't give them another option.
![]() |
| JJ - Druid's Den |
![]() |
| 'JJ - such a legend. the best barmaid in Italy! or anywhere for that matter, love Vikki & Emily' |
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)




















