Sunday, 24 July 2011

Italy 2011 - Day Four, Pompei

I was woken up a few hours later by Vikki telling me that they were heading to the ruins, so i had ten minutes to get ready. completely exhausted, and a slight hangover looming i told her where she could stick her ruins, and went back to sleep, only to wake up an hour later, boiling hot with a cleaner standing over me. apparently they'd left the door open, and she was here to clean up, so i figured i'd take the opportunity to grab a shower and try to dry straight my hair without a hair dryer. 
I spent the rest of the day building card towers, eating yesterdays pizza and feeling pretty mad at myself for not going to see the ruins. it was, after all, the reason why we'd come to Pompei, and i'd been looking forward to seeing everything. it didn't help that when they got back, i was informed that the door had been open all night. in fact, the owners were pretty mad because they'd stayed up all night, worried about us. despite finding this amazingly heart-warming, i also felt incredibly guilty for not only dragging Vikki along, but also keeping up the owners of Hotel Apollo with my nightly adventure. 
We went out to look for somewhere to eat, but there didn't seem to be much that anyone fancied, so we ended up in McDonalds. i didn't want anything from there either though, i was kind of sick of pasta and pizza and bread, and was dying for some salad (which has never happened before!) we ended up walking past the cafe from the night before, at which point the guy from the night before came out. Vikki was very determined to go home, not wanting a repeat from the night before, but i ended up agreeing to meet him after his shift finished, so we could hang out some more. after more free drinks i ended up hanging out with him all night, getting back to the hotel an hour before our train was supposed to leave. 


No comments:

Post a Comment